The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

Big Love (1/21)

EW Description: “We agreed with star Chloe Sevigny that last season was lackluster. But the fifth and final season of the HBO drama is poised to deliver, with a welcome refocus on the extended Henrickson clan as they embark on life as a political family — and open polygamists.”

First of all, an explanation. School has overtaken my life and it’s made it very difficult to update this on a regular basis. I’m aware the series finale for Big Love aired over a week ago, but I had to wait until I went home for spring break to catch up on the last few episodes. I don’t have HBO when I’m at school, so I had to mooch off OnDemand at my parents’ house.

Big Love has definitely had its ups and downs over the years. Everything about season 4 was pretty much a disappointment, so I was skeptical about the final season. My favorite character (Sarah, played by the amazing Amanda Seyfried) was not returning and I was worried I wouldn’t care about any of the storylines. However, I became fascinated with Barb’s (Jeanne Tripplehorn) storyline. What I loved about Sarah was her constant struggle with her religion. That’s something I really relate to and when Barb started questioning her belief in her husband’s church, I was hooked.

Nikki (Chloe Sevigny) is probably tied with Bill (Bill Paxton) for my least favorite character, so I tended to tune out a lot of their storylines. I was very interested in Cara Lynn’s storyline and her affair with her teacher. It really showed the struggles she faced in moving from the compound to the “real” world. I found the parallels between Cara Lynn’s romance with her teacher and Nikki’s marriage to JJ really compelling.

As much as I love Ginnifer Goodwin, most of Margene’s storylines have been ridiculous and I never really cared about her business ventures. I connected with her desire to branch out and see the world, but I also feel like the writers didn’t always know what to do with Margene.

As for the decision to kill off Bill, I was absolutely thrilled. There were so many times when I just wanted to punch Bill in the face and I almost did a happy dance when he died. Plus, for me, the show has always been more about the journey of the sister wives. I always felt like Bill was holding them back and keeping them from achieving their true potential. This was never more evident than when Barb wanted to hold the priesthood and Bill said she would never be able to because she was a woman. Bill’s patriarchal values always pissed me off. To see how far the sister wives have come since the first season was just really astounding to me. Overall, I was really happy with the way everything wrapped up and I am going to miss seeing into the Henrickson’s life.

Leave a Reply

