The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

My Top 10 of 2010

My list is going to be just a litle bit different from Entertainment Weekly. I’m not including any books on my list. I read a lot, but my favorite books I’ve read this year were not published in 2010. I’m only including one song. I’m not really a music critic. I know what I like and what I don’t. This is going to be very movie and TV heavy because that’s what I know best. Movies and TV are my passion and this list will reflect that.

10. The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson and Late Night with Jimmy Fallon

Over the summer, I decided to give late night TV a shot and I can’t stand Jay Leno or David Letterman, so I moved on to Jimmy Fallon and Craig Ferguson. Since then, I have hardly missed an episode of either of them. In Kansas City, Craig Ferguson is on an hour after Jimmy Fallon, so I get a wonderful 2-hour block of laughter. They’re both so random and hilarious. I love Craig’s repartee with his robot announcer Geoff. I love the random games Jimmy plays with audience members and his guests. They’re both absolutely wonderful and I love my nights with them.

9. The Daily Show

This should really go without saying, but Jon Stewart is phenomenal. His coverage of the midterm elections was fantastic, as usual. But the reason I loved him more than ever this year was his advocacy for the 9/11 First Responders health coverage bill. Stewart is at his best when he is passionate about a cause and he was completely spot-on with this. In particular, his last show of the year was fantastic. When he was interviewing a group of 9/11 First Responders, it was hard to remember that he’s a comedian and not a legit journalist. If you have not seen this episode yet, you absolutely must watch it.

8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1

Read the post I wrote about it. I love Harry Potter. I love this movie.

7. The Big Bang Theory

I’ve also written about my love for this show in the past couple of weeks. I love these nerds and my love grows every time I watch them.

6. Modern Family

This is one of the top three funniest shows on TV right now. I gave my mom the first season for Christmas and we started rewatching the episodes tonight. There’s at least three laugh out loud moments in every single episode. The humor never goes too over the top. The characters balance each other out extremely well. Plus, it’s one of the most well-written shows on television right now. If you haven’t watched it yet, do it. You won’t be sorry.

5. Black Swan

My favorite of the Best Picture contenders for the Oscars. Absolutely phenomenal. For more detail, check out my post from a week ago.

4. Friday Night Lights

This show has been virtually flawless for four seasons. This season was no exception. I dare anyone to watch the episode where Matt buries his father and not cry. The cast is phenomenal and horribly underrated. The younger actors on it have such bright futures in acting. Plus, Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton have the best marriage on television. The fifth and final season airs this summer. I’m both looking forward to it and completely dreading it. I’m not ready to say goodbye to this show.

3. “Little Lion Man,” Mumford & Sons

I can’t really explain why I love this song so much. All I know is, it got me through this summer. I blared it at work every time I heard it. I blast it in the car whenever I can. I just love to sing along to it. It’s completely beautiful and I adore it.

2. Toy Story 3

I was five years old when the first Toy Story came out in theaters. Woody, Buzz Lightyear and the rest of the gang have been a part of my life for 15 years. I went to the midnight premiere when TS3 came out and it was mainly college-age students there. We were all there to reconnect with our childhood friends as we watched Andy deal with going away to college and leaving his childhood behind him. The young children who saw the first Toy Story in theaters are now going through the same issues as Andy. As usual, Pixar addresses this in a completely poignant way. Anyone who says they didn’t cry at the end of this movie is either lying or has a heart made of stone.

1. Community

This is arguably the funniest show on television right now. Every episode is absolutely hilarious. There might be a dud or two in there, but even the duds have their funny moments. The show has evolved since the pilot into the best representation of parody on television right now. Any genre of film or television is up for grabs and the writers don’t shy away from anything. In the first season and a half, the show has at least five instant classic episodes. Any show that will film a stop-motion Christmas special is amazing. This is pretty much the best show people aren’t watching right now.

Leave a Reply

