The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

EW Description: “It’s the beginning of the end for the Hogwarts saga and the adventure is epic, as our mature and resourceful wizard trio bands together to beat back Voldemort’s growing power.”

When I was in the fourth grade, my teacher read us Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone. Before she started reading it, I told my mom and a former teacher that I was not looking forward to it because I had no interest in reading about a boy wizard. I thought it sounded like the stupidest thing I had ever heard. By the end of my fourth grade year, I owned the first three books and had read the third book at least 30 times. This will go down in history as one of my most wrong first impressions.

Harry Potter shaped my childhood. I grew up with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. By the time the seventh book came out, Harry and I were the same age – 17. I felt like this was a sign that Harry and I were kindred spirits.

I saw the first part of the seventh movie at 12:01 a.m. the day it came out. Sadly, it will be my last midnight premiere as the second part comes out while I’m working as an RA at a summer camp. I’m very grateful that my last midnight premiere was for the best movie thus far. I’ve seen the movie twice now and it just gets better every time I see it.

As far as adaptations of the book go, the movies do not have a great track record. It’s hard turning 600+ page books into a film that doesn’t go on for five hours. Diehard fans would probably sit there for a five-hour film if it meant that we got to see every scene from the book, but I also know it’s not economically feasible to do that. I was thrilled when I found out they were splitting the seventh book into two films. One, because it prolongs my inevitable goodbye to Harry Potter. Two, because I knew it meant they would get to cram more of the book into the movie.

This has been the best adaptation of the book since the first or second one. I was disappointed in a lot of the adaptations before I had to stop judging it in comparison to the book and just look at it as a movie. This movie took out the least amount of plot and as far as scenes added, they actually did enhance the plot. When we saw Hermione oblivate her parents’ memories, that was one of the most touching scenes in any of the movies. And one that wasn’t in the book.

This film showed how much Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, and Emma Watson have grown since the first movie came out. I remember seeing a review of the third movie where the critic said that Radcliffe would never be a great actor. I feel like this role and other roles Radcliffe has performed show that he does have the potential to be a great actor.

The single greatest scene in this movie, in my opinion, was when Hermione and Harry were dancing together after Ron had left. For me, it showed that it is possible to find joy in the face of great adversity. It helped the audience remember that these are 17-year-olds who have been dealt an awful hand in life. It’s one of my favorite scenes in the entire series.

A lot of people have criticized the film for being too boring. That might be true for people who haven’t read the book. At the end of the day, I feel like the filmmakers are making a movie for the fans of the book. Frankly, I don’t care if someone who has never read the book doesn’t enjoy the movie. This movie isn’t for them. This movie is for a fourth-grade girl who was introduced to a world of magic and never looked at life the same way again. This movie is for the college students who grew up with Harry Potter and consider him one of our best friends. This movie is for us.

Leave a Reply

