The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

#1 Grey’s Anatomy (11/12)

EW Description: “Seven seasons in and Grey’s is as strong as ever, with fresh story lines – like the recent episode that found the doctors shadowed by a film crew – and juicy melodrama in the wake of the shooting in last season’s finale.”

I have a very long history with Grey’s Anatomy. When the show premiered my freshman year of high school, I became obsessed with it. I loved all of the characters. My friends and I watched it and talked about it at school. I spent months chatting with people on a Grey’s Anatomy message board and met some really awesome people that way. Then something changed. I pinpointed the post-Super Bowl second season bomb threat episode as when it all started to fall apart. Suddenly, the show was all melodrama instead of my awesome dramedy. The comedy was all gone. Then the writing started to fall apart and around the time that George and Izzie hooked up, my devotion to the show started to wane.

I caught a few episodes here and there, but it was not even close to being appointment television for me anymore. After the fourth season, I stopped putting into my weekly television schedule (and yes, I do have one, don’t judge). I couldn’t take any more of the Meredith/Derek will they or won’t they drama. They had completely assassinated Izzie’s character to the point where her presence made the show unbearable. George was no longer the adorkable doctor I fell in love with and was instead just a whiny baby. After multiple episodes where I literally sat on the couch beating a lamp against the side of my head, I was through.

I still knew what was going on with the characters, though. As a television addict, I had to know what was happening on every major show, even if I didn’t care about it. It’s why I can tell you all the names of the American Idol winners or stuff about plotlines on 24 without ever having seen an episode. When something is such a pop culture phenomenon, I have to know something about it. Plus, when they started the Izzie has a brain tumor and is having ghost sex with Denny, you know I was reading the recaps of that and laughing my ass off.

So, when the show was at the top of the Must List, I decided to give it another shot. First, I was just going to watch the season premiere, but the description also mentioned the documentary episode, so I had to watch that too. But then there were four episodes between those two and I wanted to be sure to know what was going on in order to accurately write about it. Next thing you know, I’ve watched seven episodes of Grey’s Anatomy in about two days in between a lot of other stuff. Last night when I was trying to go to bed, the mantra of “just one more episode” finally had to end because it was 2:00 and I could hardly keep my eyes open. But I just had to know what was going on.

I still have my problems with the show. The plotlines are way over the top and unbelievable. People don’t actually speak in the ridiculous metaphors Shonda Rhimes and the other writers love to throw in to monologues. But, the sweetness of the show is back. Meredith and Cristina still have the best friendship on television and I love seeing them lean on each other. In the aftermath of the shooting, Sandra Oh is doing some of the best acting I’ve ever seen her do as Cristina deals with her PTSD and newlywed life. There’s not so much angst between all the characters anymore, which is such a relief. Plus, Sarah Drew (Hannah from the amazing Everwood) is on it now and I absolutely adore her, even if April is kind of annoying at times.

The writing is excellent. The acting is great. The documentary-style episode is an instant classic. If you were like me and tuned out after a while, now is the time to tune back in. This show is back to its former glory. All the new characters have really helped to rejuvenate things and the results are pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

