The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

#6 The Good Wife (10/1)

EW Description: “After its stellar first season and tease of a cliff-hanger, the legal drama drops right back in on Alicia (Julianna Margulies) and her in-limbo love life – will it be husband Peter or boss Will?”

I watched the pilot of this last season and I couldn’t really get into it. After watching the second season premiere, I really wish I had stuck with it. I didn’t know much of the backstory, but I knew about the love triangle between Alicia, her husband Peter (Chris Noth) and her boss Will. I was rooting for Will, just because Noth has always seemed kind of smarmy to me.

Anyway, the plot of this episode was really interesting. The case Alicia worked on revolved around a guy who thought the federal government was framing him for murder. He ran this website that posts videos that the government probably wouldn’t want most people to see, like stuff from war zones. The guy didn’t want a lawyer and wouldn’t let Alicia do very much. Eventually, she wore him down and he let her defend him. She had to convince the jury that the government might possibly have framed him. She somehow managed to do it.

There was also a small plot involving Kalinda (Archie Panjabi) and a new private investigator (Scott Porter, a.k.a. JASON STREET!!!!!) that I found really interesting. Mainly because I really love Scott Porter. Apparently, the law firm they work for is merging with another law firm, but if that involves Michael Ealy finding work again, then I’m all for it.

I wrote this show off as another run-of-the-mill legal drama, like most of CBS’s offerings. Yet again, my instincts were wrong and this show might actually be worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

