The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

#7 Eastbound & Down (10/1)

EW Description: “The comedy about a washed-up ballplayer continues its crude, hilariously unsentimental ways in season 2, which finds Kenny (Danny McBride) hiding out in Mexico after his return to baseball went bust.”

I had only vaguely heard of this show, so I didn’t really know what to expect when I watched the second season premiere. When it started off with a scene where Kenny is cockfighting, I pretty much knew I wasn’t going to enjoy this show very much. I feel like I would have enjoyed it more if I turned it into a drinking game. Take a shot every time they say the words cock, balls, or tits. Or any variation. I’d be wasted in the first five minutes.

This episode finds Kenny living in Mexico after leaving everyone he knows. The episode depends pretty heavily on the “Ugly American” stereotype, which can be funny if done right. This is not one of those instances. Typical jokes about how Americans hate soccer, Mexico is the butthole of America, and Kenny doesn’t want to learn Spanish commence. Also, everyone in Mexico apparently does drugs based on what we’re shown.

I kept waiting for something that would make me laugh. Not even a full laugh, just a small chuckle. No such luck. The entire show seems to be nothing more than racist, low-brow humor. When there is a 30-second close-up of a woman’s ass in a 30-minute show, it’s not a good sign. This show is not clever, insightful, or even moderately humorous. I was just thankful it was a half-hour show instead of a full hour. The appeal to this show is just something I do not see. I tried hard to see it. I really did. It was just pretty much unbearable.

Leave a Reply

