The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

EW Description: “The Black Eyed Peas front-man and hip-hop’s reigning femme fatale make ingenious use of those famous coos from the 1979 Buggles hit “Video Killed the Radio Star” to create an irresistible party-starter.”

Full disclosure: I’m on some cold medicine right now, so this post might not completely make sense. I’ll try my best, though.

Before I listened to this song, I decided to listen to “Video Killed the Radio Star” just to refresh my memory of the coos EW mentioned. All I ever remember of the song is the chorus. While I was listening to “Check It Out,” I kept imagining they were going to bust out into “Video,” but they never did. There was also one section where it sounded like they were working up to something from “Boom Boom Pow.”

I really love remixes of songs and this song definitely feels like a bit of a remix. I feel like it takes a bunch of elements from other songs and just mashes it all together. It doesn’t feel like the most original song, but it’s definitely entertaining. They work in the coos from “Video” perfectly so it feels like it’s adding something to the song, instead of trying to just straight up copy something.

I adore will.i.am, so he can pretty much do no wrong in my eyes. I don’t know very much about Nicki Minaj, but I liked her voice on this song. The only other song I know of hers is “Your Love,” and I don’t really care for that. As long as she keeps making stuff more similar to “Check It Out” than “Your Love,” I think she’ll be amazing.

“Check It Out” is by no means the greatest song of our generation or anything like that, but it’s catchy and makes me want to dance. Sometimes, that’s all we can really ask for.

Leave a Reply

