The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

#5 Hawaii Five-O (10/1)

EW Description: “Is the reboot of the vintage cop drama even better than the original? See for yourself as a detective dream team of Moonlight’s Alex O’Loughlin, Ocean’s Eleven’s Scott Caan, Lost’s Daniel Dae Kim, and Battlestar Galactica’s Grace Park bid aloha to the bad guys.”

I can still remember watching my mom watch the original show in syndication when I was growing up. I never remember actually watching the show with her, though. I always got super annoyed when she watched it for some reason. I don’t really know why.

The remake does not have anything annoying about it. It just feels very unnecessary. I don’t think anyone was really begging for a new version and I certainly wan’t begging for yet another cop show. I watched the pilot and was just very disinterested. It was just another generic cop drama. It reminded me of NCIS in some ways. I’m sure it’s entertaining if you like cop shows and I generally don’t.

Here’s the plot in a nutshell: Steve McGarrett (Alex O’Loughlin, who CBS is determined to turn into a megastar) is coming back to Hawaii after his father’s murder. He’s in the Navy or some other branch of the military, but the uniform looked Navy-esque. The governor (Jean Smart) appoints him to head up this task force to solve his father’s murder. Basically, he has carte blanche to do whatever is necessary to avenge his dad. He meets up with Danno (Scott Caan) who is working on his father’s investigation and they instantly dislike each other. By the end of the episode, they’re reluctant friends and it’s adorable. There are also some friendly locals (Daniel Dae Kim, Grace Park) who just happen to be trained cops that Honolulu Police Department doesn’t like, but they loved Steve’s dad. The four of them make up the new task force and take down some bad guys and tragically kill Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I mean, he was a bad guy, but he’s Spike!

As a Lost fan, I’m glad to see Kim working again. He’s a really great actor and it’s very weird to see him speaking fluent English on this show. I’m used to his stilted English/fluent Korean, so I had trouble separating him from Jin.

Overall, it’s not bad, just not particularly interesting. Its not a risky show, just another bland crime drama. It fits in perfectly with the rest of CBS’ shows and will probably become a monster hit.

Leave a Reply

