The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

EW Description: “The Brooklyn indie-rock duo were last seen stripping naked in Times Square for their “Lessons Learned” video. Now they’ve debuted this easygoing dance jam about an exuberant night in New York City.”

Fun fact: It is impossible not to be cheered up by a Matt & Kim song. Seriously, just listen to them and you feel instantly happy. Well, at least I do. This song is no exception. I just want to listen to it over and over again. I’m currently on my third time in a row.

The story of the song is pretty well spelled out in the EW description above. It’s about a fun night out in NYC with some friends. The chorus talks about just experiencing the night and not worrying about taking pictures.

No time for cameras/We’ll use our eyes instead/No time for cameras/We’ll be gone when we’re dead/No time for cameras/We’ll use our eyes instead/I see flashes of gold

The other song of Matt & Kim’s that I am most familiar with is “Daylight,” and this is equally peppy. “Cameras” has this really funky opening that I’m kind of addicted to. I suck at picking out instruments, but it sounds like some sort of horn. I could be completely off base, but that’s what it sounds like to me.

Once I can justify spending money again, I will be adding this album to my collection. Until then, I’ll just have to settle for their YouTube page.

Leave a Reply

