The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

#6 127 Hours Trailer (9/10)

EW Description: “James Franco scurries up a ledge, then descends into the abyss in a spot for Danny Boyle’s drama about real-life hiker Aron Ralston. It’s this kind of pulse-pounding tension that has us revved up for the survival tale.”

People who know me know of my intense love of Slumdog Millionaire. So, of course, any movie from Danny Boyle is going to be okay by me. I love James Franco as an actor, so that’s even better. But THEN! I see Amber Tamblyn (a.k.a. Joan of freaking Arcadia!) and Kate Mara (the girl who got an abortion on Everwood) and I MUST SEE THIS MOVIE NOW!

So, the trailer starts out by running through Boyle’s filmography, which I felt was unnecessary, but whatever. Then it shows some of the backstory to set up Franco’s character and then we see him slip down into the hole where he would remain for “127 Hours.” I feel like the majority of the movie will take place after what the trailer shows us, unless it’s told mainly in flashbacks, which is entirely possible.

Basically, this movie looks wonderful, and I think there’s a good chance that if these films live up to their hype, we could see some of the actually talented people in “Young Hollywood” making an appearance at the Oscars. Between Franco and The Social Network‘s Jesse Eisenberg, we could have one of the most youthful Best Actor races in quite some time.

Then I remember it’s the Oscars, so probably not, but hey, a girl can dream, right?

Comments on: "#6 127 Hours Trailer (9/10)" (1)

  1. Aw man, I miss Joan of Arcadia. I Tivo’d all the episodes on SyFy and I’ve been watching them in my free time.

Leave a Reply

