The musings of a feminist pop culture fanatic

EW description: “FX’s pulp series about an outlaw biker gang revved itself up in its second season with juicier plotlines, Adam Arkin’s pitch-perfect villain, and some amazing acting by Katey Sagal. Catch up with a DVD set that includes deleted scenes, a gag reel, and footage from a night out at a bar with the crew.”

I didn’t watch the full DVD set. I got the first disc from Netflix and watched that tonight. I can see why people like the show, but it’s just not for me. It’s what I would classify as well-done, but not even slightly enjoyable.

Some people like a lot of violence in their entertainment, but I am not in that camp. When there are scenes in a show of a woman being chained up, beaten, and gang raped, I feel physically ill. It doesn’t matter how good the acting is in the scene (though Katey Sagal is quite wonderful), the bottom line is I don’t enjoy watching things that make me want to vomit.

I made it through the first three episodes of season 2. There are definitely parts that are intriguing. As much as I hated seeing the rape scene, the aftermath of it is handled masterfully by Sagal. I really liked the relationship between Jax and Tara and found that enjoyable. On the surface, I like the conflict between the Sons of Anarchy and the white supremacists, but I don’t want to see all the beatings and shootings. I can tell that Adam Arkin’s character will probably develop into a wonderful villain, but I can’t handle watching the path that will take him to that point.

In a lot of ways, I feel about this show the way I felt about Inglorious Basterds. It’s very well-written and has excellent direction and acting. However, there are a select few storylines I actually care about and the ones I don’t are too hard for me to handle watching. If you’re looking for a really good show and you can handle violence, then definitely give the show a shot. Even if it’s not for me, I can respect it as a good show.

Leave a Reply

